The largest independent, non-commercial, consumer-oriented resource on the Internet for owners, collectors and enthusiasts of fine wristwatches. Online since 1998.
Informational Websites ChronoMaddox -- the legacy of Chuck Maddox OnTheDash -- vintage Heuer website Zowie -- Omega information
Discussion Forums ChronoMaddox Forum Heuer Forum Omega Forum
Counterfeit Watchers ChronoTools Forum ChronoTrader Forum
Vintage Heuer Discussion Forum
The place for discussing 1930-1985 Heuer wristwatches, chronographs and dash-mounted timepieces. Online since May 2003.
OnTheDash Home What's New! Price Guide Chronographs Dash Mounted Collection
Re: Someone using one of my pics...

: Alistair, Hi John,

: This use of someone else' photo without credit is probably
: unethical but, unfortunately, probably not illegal. I couldn't agree more..... My background is I was a a Special effects editor in film...

As a
: photographer, people "re-use" my photos all of the
: time. I used to get mad and make a big stink about it but now
: the only time I react is if they are using a photo of mint for
: an obvious commercial purpose.

Yes I hear you.. having been doing this for more years than I can remember...and that includes seeing pro photogs like you making a much bigger deal about things than this....when the web started making its inpression

Fair use laws in the US at least
: generally allow people to use "re-use" copyrighted
: photos for non-profit educational uses, especially as far as it
: concerns low res photos on the internet.

Non profit is absolutely fine.. maybe even profit too coz what can you do..? But seeing someone else s watermark is irritating... that's all.... if the guy says thanks to Alistair at ATG or even Alistair from OTD then that's fine...you may not know me but I spent a lot of time contributing to OTD back in the day and would consider the old folk here pals and them using my pics would be an honour but I don't like picture collectors....

I don't like it....in