The largest independent, non-commercial, consumer-oriented resource on the Internet for owners, collectors and enthusiasts of fine wristwatches. Online since 1998.
Informational Websites ChronoMaddox -- the legacy of Chuck Maddox OnTheDash -- vintage Heuer website Zowie -- Omega information
Discussion Forums ChronoMaddox Forum Heuer Forum Omega Forum
Counterfeit Watchers ChronoTools Forum ChronoTrader Forum
Vintage Heuer Discussion Forum
The place for discussing 1930-1985 Heuer wristwatches, chronographs and dash-mounted timepieces. Online since May 2003.
OnTheDash Home What's New! Price Guide Chronographs Dash Mounted Collection
Honor among thieves or a Fool and his money? *PIC*

Ok, I screwed up...but hopefully this will be a lesson for other collectors out there [long story].

First let me say, this is a small community. A community built on trust and honor. I have been collecting for over 35 years, and in this time, I’ve met many friends. Friends that I trust and admire. Friends that don’t put financial gain over doing what is right. Friends that have helped many times over the years, sharing their knowledge, sharing parts even sending me an extremely hard to find part and asking for nothing in return. Friends I trust like my family. Over the years Ive also met many honorable dealers...dealers who's word is as good as gold.

We are a very anal group, stressing out over the smallest of details. Over the years finding parts for our beloved watches has become very difficult...it is to a point where if a part shows up for sale online, you must commit to it within the first 5 minutes of it posting or it will be gone instantly. Fortunately for the most part we can trust our fellow collectors and members of this forum to be honest and respectful, and to keep their words. We all make mistakes...it's what we do after we make a mistake that separates us.

So here is my story...