The largest independent, non-commercial, consumer-oriented resource on the Internet for owners, collectors and enthusiasts of fine wristwatches. Online since 1998.
Informational Websites ChronoMaddox -- the legacy of Chuck Maddox OnTheDash -- vintage Heuer website Zowie -- Omega information
Discussion Forums ChronoMaddox Forum Heuer Forum Omega Forum
Counterfeit Watchers ChronoTools Forum ChronoTrader Forum
Vintage Heuer Discussion Forum
The place for discussing 1930-1985 Heuer wristwatches, chronographs and dash-mounted timepieces. Online since May 2003.
OnTheDash Home What's New! Price Guide Chronographs Dash Mounted Collection
You lucky dog! Carl is the driver I root for...

: Good people

: Last week I had the opportunity to interview
: NASCAR driver Carl Edwards for WSJ.com.

You lucky dog! Carl is the driver I root for in both the NASCAR Nextel/Sprint and Busch series. As I'm a Blue Oval driver, I always tend to root for Blue Oval drivers anyway, and I was impressed with both how quickly Carl adjusted to the top-tier of the circuit and started turning in admirable performances [and wins] but also his humility and frequent expressions of how fortunate he is to be where he is. He's a breath of fresh air.

I don't have much in the way of fan gear [I have an Office Depot 99 cap somewhere too], yet, as it's not as easy to find gear if you're new to the scene and don't have a last name like Gordon, Stewart or Earnhardt. But with a little bit of time, and less bad luck than last year, that'll not be a problem for long.

: Although I fretted some about which shirt to
: wear, there was no question about which
: watch: my Siffert.

Very good choice! I'm surprised you didn't have your sleeves rolled up or wore a short sleeved-shirt to show it off!

: You can see the interview--and the watch--on
: Youtube. The watch shows up best around
: 1:06.

Very cool!

: I found out--too late--that Jackie Stewart had
: been in for an interview a couple weeks