The largest independent, non-commercial, consumer-oriented resource on the Internet for owners, collectors and enthusiasts of fine wristwatches. Online since 1998.
Informational Websites ChronoMaddox -- the legacy of Chuck Maddox OnTheDash -- vintage Heuer website Zowie -- Omega information
Discussion Forums ChronoMaddox Forum Heuer Forum Omega Forum
Counterfeit Watchers ChronoTools Forum ChronoTrader Forum
Vintage Heuer Discussion Forum
The place for discussing 1930-1985 Heuer wristwatches, chronographs and dash-mounted timepieces. Online since May 2003.
OnTheDash Home What's New! Price Guide Chronographs Dash Mounted Collection
How about a Corvair followed by an MGB! Pics

I inherited my Grandfather's beloved 1964 Corvair (navy blue in color) when I started college in 1972. That was a fun car to drive but when I graduated in 1976, I bought my first car, a NOT gently used 1972 MGB. When I responded to the newspaper ad for the car, accompanied by my father, I remember him remarking as we took the car out for a short test drive: "Cripes, whatever you do, just don't get us killed". lol! Gee, he didn't have too much confidence in my ability to drive a manual transmission for just the second time in my life! I bought the car which we later realized had probably 90 weight oil in the engine to hide the worn out engine. This 4 year old car had 90,000 hard miles on it! I got the engine rebuilt, some body work, new paint, new clutch and it served me well for about 8 years before I ended up putting it in the garage when I got tired of spending more money on it. I bought a house in 1991 so I had to either make it road worthy or get rid of it. I spent another couple thousand on it so I could take it to the new house. Some idiot backed into me in a parking lot within a year and the cop wrote the report up wrong and delayed correcting it, retiring 3 weeks later, claiming he forgot the circumstances of the other car backing into a parked car with me sitting in it! So in frustratio